About the Timeline

In a time when people increasingly first gain their knowledge about a subject from online resources, Ancient Philosophical Timeline (A.P.T.) aims to provide its users with an accessible and scholarly informed guide to ancient philosophical thought. Currently the timeline's purview considers philosophy during the Classical period from the Pre-Socratics up until the end of antiquity, but a timeline on Chinese philosophy will eventually be added to the project's offering.

Being an online resource, the timeline is not restricted by the space constraints that limit book based introductions to the field. This allows our users to gain access to the full scope of intellectual depth of ancient philosophical thought, and to explore it as they see fit. As well as philosophical ideas, issues relating to historical context and background (for example Alexander the Great and the rise of Hellenism, or what the institutional features of philosophical schools were), are also explored, and provide historical depth to the timeline. Each entry in the timeline, whether by text or video, is contributed by a recognised scholar in their field who are listed below. Currently the sole editor of A.P.T. is Dr Erlend MacGillivray, but additional editors will be added soon. It is envisaged that within three years (2021) A.P.T. will be approaching its completion. The timeline remains in its infancy, and has been placed online so that scholars who are interested in furthering its growth can become familiar with it.

We have tried to make the timeline as intuitive to use as possible. The timeline's contents can be narrowed down by clicking on the tool icon in the bottom right of the screen. Some entries include text and video contributions. A video below provides a brief overview of how to use these features.

Our Contributors

Each contributor to A.P.T. is a recognised expert in the topic that they are, through either writing or video presentation, relaying information about. Every contributor will hold a Ph.D in a relevant field, and usually have published in peer-reviewed outlets on the subject that they address in the timeline. The table below shows the contributors to the timeline so far. Clicking on a scholar's name will take you to their academic pages where more information about them and their expertise can be seen. Where an entry has been scheduled, but not submitted, "(forthcoming)" will be listed next to the entry.

Entry Contributor Contributor Author

Dr Michael Augustin

'Epicureanism and the Health of the Soul'

Dr Rene Brouwer

'Zeno of Citium'

Dr Jenny Bryan


Professor John Cooper

'Platonist Philosophy as a Way of Life: Plotinus' (video)

Professor Vanessa de Harven

'Chrysippus of Soli'

Professor John Dillon

'The Origins of Platonic Dogmatism' (video)

Dr Liz Gloyn

'Seneca the Younger'

Professor Pamela Gordon

'Diogenes of Oenoanda'

Professor Dan Hooley


Professor Brian Johnson

'Stoic Ethics'

Professor Anna Maria Ioppolo

'Aristo of Chios'

Dr Alex Long


Dr Erlend D. MacGillivray

'Musonius Rufus'

Dr Michael McOsker

'Philodemus of Gadara'

Dr Kenneth Moore

'Persaeus of Citium'

Professor Ilaria Ramelli

'Hierocles the Stoic'

Dr John Sellars

'Stoicism and Emotions'

Professor William O. Stephens


Professor Johan Thom

'Cleanthes of Assos'

Dr Claartje van Sijl

'Dio Chrysostom'; 'Cornutus'

Dr Daniel Vazquez

'Stoic Cosmology'

Professor Duncan Kennedy

'Stoic Epistemology and Logic'

Vincenzo Damiani PhD (cand.)

'Stoic Epistemology and Logic'

Professor Angie Hobbs

'Parmenides, Heraclitus'

Professor Paul Cartledge

'Athenian Democracy'

Professor Monica Gale

"name">'Lucretius' (text) (forthcoming)

Dr Mattias Haake

'Philosophical Schools as Institutions' (forthcoming)

Professor Margaret Graver

'Lucretius' (video)

Dr Miles Hollingsworth

'St Augustine'

Professor Edith Hall

'The Life of Aristotle'

© 2018 Erlend MacGillivray